State insurance mandates for fertility treatment and IVF coverage
Which US states require private health insurers to cover fertility diagnosis, treatment, or preservation, and the specific terms of each mandate. Each record is one state, stating the mandate type (treatment, preservation only, or offer/cover distinction), which treatments are covered (IVF, GIFT, ZIFT, fertility preservation), cycle or dollar limits, age restrictions, employer-size thresholds, self-insured plan exemption status, religious employer exemption, effective date, and the statute citation. As of 2026, 25 states plus DC require some form of fertility coverage, but the variation is enormous: California (SB 729, effective January 2026) mandates IVF in large group plans with no cycle limit; Arkansas caps lifetime coverage at $15,000 and requires trying cheaper treatments first; Delaware covers six egg retrievals but only for iatrogenic infertility; several states mandate only fertility preservation for cancer patients. Self-insured employer plans (covering ~65% of workers with job-based insurance) are exempt from all state mandates under federal ERISA. Answers 'does my state require insurance to cover IVF', 'how many IVF cycles does my state mandate', 'does the fertility mandate apply to my employer', and 'what are the age limits for mandated fertility coverage in [state]'.
The data
| State | Mandate type | IVF covered | Cycle or retrieval limit | Lifetime dollar cap | Age restriction | Employer size threshold | Self-insured plans exempt | Religious employer exempt | Prior treatment required | Effective date | Statute citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arkansas | mandate to cover | yes | not stated | a lifetime cap of just $15,000 | not stated | not stated | employers who self-insure are exempt | not stated | you must try a less costly fertility approach such as undergoing an intrauterine insemination (IUI) | not stated | not stated |
| California | mandate to cover | yes | not stated | not stated | not stated | large group health plans | not stated | not stated | not stated | January 1, 2026 | Senate Bill 729 |
| Colorado | mandate to cover | yes | three egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers | not stated | not stated | large group of 100 or more people | not stated | religious organizations, even large ones, are not required to provide fertility coverage | not stated | As of January 1, 2023 | not stated |
| Connecticut | mandate to cover | yes | up to two cycles of IVF | not stated | not stated | not stated | if your employer self-insures, they do not have to provide this coverage | if they are a religious organization, this is also not mandated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Delaware | mandate to cover | yes | six egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers | not stated | egg retrieval must be done before age 45 and any embryos transferred before age 50 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| District of Columbia | mandate to cover | yes | three rounds of IVF | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | starting in 2025 | not stated |
| Florida | preservation only | no | N/A | not stated | not stated | state group health insurance plan | self-insured employers are exempt | not stated | not stated | January 1, 2026 | 2025 Florida law |
| Georgia | preservation only | no | N/A | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | January 1, 2026 | House Bill 94 |
| Hawaii | mandate to cover | yes | one and only one IVF cycle | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | tried other covered fertility treatment first | not stated | not stated |
| Illinois | mandate to cover | yes | four bites at the apple and if you are successful and a live birth occurs, you're actually entitled to two more covered egg retrievals | not stated | not stated | more than 25 full-time employees | not stated | not stated | tried lower-cost treatments under your insurance umbrella first without success | As of January 1, 2022 | not stated |
| Kentucky | preservation only | no | N/A | not stated | Plans may have age restrictions | not stated | self-insured employers are exempt | religious employers and self-insured employers are exempt | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Louisiana | diagnosis only | no | N/A | not stated | not stated | not stated | If your employer self-insures, then even if you would be eligible otherwise, there's no requirement that you be covered | Religious employers may also opt out | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Maine | mandate to cover | yes | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 24-A MRSA §4320-S |
| Maryland | mandate to cover | yes | three IVF rounds for every live birth | $100,000 lifetime cap | not stated | fewer than 50 employees | those employers who self insure | this coverage is not a requirement for religious employers | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Massachusetts | mandate to cover | yes | no limit on the number cycles | no state lifetime cap on the amount of fertility insurance available | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Minnesota | mandate to cover | yes | four retrievals per lifetime | not stated | not stated | large group health plans (over 25 employees) | not stated | Religious exemptions exist | not stated | January 1, 2026 | HF1758, the Building Families Act |
| Montana | mandate to cover | limited | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | self-insured employers and religious employers are exempt | self-insured employers and religious employers are exempt | not stated | As of 2024 | not stated |
| Nevada | preservation only | no | N/A | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Starting in 2026 | not stated |
| New Hampshire | mandate to cover | yes | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| New Jersey | mandate to cover | yes | up to four IVF cycles | not stated | under the age of 46 | at least 50 people | neither religious employers or those who self-insure are required to provide this coverage | neither religious employers or those who self-insure are required to provide this coverage | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| New York | mandate to cover | yes | up to three IVF cycles | not stated | not stated | large group insurance plans of 100 or more | Those who self-insure are exempt here | not stated | not stated | enacted in 2020 | not stated |
| Ohio | diagnosis only | no | N/A | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Rhode Island | mandate to cover | yes | not stated | $100,000 lifetime treatment cap | Beginning at age 25 and extending up to age 42 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Texas | mandate to offer | limited | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | IVF won’t even be considered until less costly measures, like IUI, have been tried | not stated | not stated |
| Utah | mandate to cover | limited | not stated | $4,000 per single embryo implant | not stated | Utah Public Employees' Health Plan | not stated | not stated | not stated | enacted in 2024 | SB35 |
| West Virginia | mandate to cover | limited | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Where this came from
Every record above links the page it was taken from and quotes the sentence that states it. These are the 2 sources this dataset was assembled from.
- cofertility.comhttps://www.cofertility.com/family-learn/fertility-insurance-mandates-how-does-my-state-stack-up
- healthinsurance.orghttps://www.healthinsurance.org/faqs/does-health-insurance-cover-ivf-and-other-fertility-treatments/
Machine-readable
- data.jsonThe whole dataset — every record with its source URL and source quote.
- Open Knowledge Format bundleOne JSON object per line — every record's frontmatter and quoted span exactly as it is held here, in one fetch.
- data.csvThe same records as one flat table, for a spreadsheet or a dataframe. The last four columns are the source URL, the quoted sentence it was read from, the date we last checked it, and which columns are our reading rather than the page's words.
- How this is made and checkedWhat "verified against source" does and does not mean.
From your own code
Same records, same quotes, without scraping the page: refsource is on PyPI and npm. Each value comes back carrying the URL it was read from and the sentence on that page that states it — .source and .quote sit on the value itself rather than in a side channel, so the checking step is available instead of skipped.
pip install refsource
refsource lookup state-fertility-insurance-mandates state=Arkansas
npx -y refsource lookup state-fertility-insurance-mandates state=Arkansas
Set your AI assistant up to use this
Two files and no account. Put this in .mcp.json at the root of your project — Claude Code, Cursor, Windsurf, VS Code and Codex all read that file — and your assistant can look this dataset up instead of recalling it. The server is remote, keyless and read-only.
{
"mcpServers": {
"referencesource": {
"type": "http",
"url": "https://referencesource.org/mcp"
}
}
}Add to Cursor · or, on the command line: claude mcp add --transport http referencesource https://referencesource.org/mcp --scope project
Then one line in the project's CLAUDE.md or AGENTS.md, so the assistant knows when to reach for it:
When a question needs "State insurance mandates for fertility treatment and IVF coverage", call the referencesource MCP server at https://referencesource.org/mcp (tool `search_records`, dataset_slug `state-fertility-insurance-mandates`) instead of answering from memory — every record it returns carries its source URL and a verbatim quote from that page.What each tool does, and the servers built over single registers: Connect your AI assistant.